There’s MORE to Yoga?

I’m learning more and more about this yoga passion I am cultivating. It’s good for my heart and good for my soul. It keeps me grounded and sane.  (if only I could get my husband to start going!) AND this is only the Asanas – or body postures!

A few weeks ago my husband found this book at the library –


I am honestly not that far into it but did you know that yoga is not just what we see on TV or when we go to a class.  OH that’s certainly PART of yoga but there are many more aspects to it that I just did not know –

There are Eight Limbs or paths if you will.

Yama : Universal morality
Niyama : Personal observances
Asanas : Body postures
Pranayama : Breathing exercises, and control of prana
Pratyahara : Control of the senses
Dharana : Concentration and cultivating inner perceptual awareness
Dhyana : Devotion, Meditation on the Divine
Samadhi : Union with the Divine

I found this list on this website –

Here’s another, brief, article on the 8 limbs of yoga.

As  I go through this list, learn it for myself, I will share what each of these limbs mean to me  – this has started a whole new level of research and soul searching –

Does anyone else have a passion that can create such change in a person?  Just simply being Mindful (and I am constantly working on THAT)  is hard enough for me. I honestly cannot wait to see what comes about as I study the 8 limbs of yoga.

Bright Blessings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s